Second Toll Rejected by Rodney: Sayers Survey

The Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency asked people to have their say on a proposal to toll the Ara Tūhono
Pūhoi to Warkworth motorway when it opens.

The Agency’s public consultation on the tolling, and a lower speed limit (on the existing SH1) proposals, opened
on 15 May and ended on 15 June 2020.

The new Ara Tūhono – Pūhoi to Warkworth motorway will extend the four-lane Northern Motorway (SH1) 18.5km
from the Johnstones Hill tunnels to just north of Warkworth. It will connect to the Northern Gateway section of SH1
south of the Johnstones Hills Tunnels, which is already tolled.

The new motorway will be separated and will vastly improve the safety, connectivity and resilience of the network
between Northland and Auckland, helping to boost the economic potential of the Northland region.

Waka Kotahi contracted NX2 in a Public Private Partnership to construct the Pūhoi to Warkworth motorway. While
the NX2 private-sector consortium is responsible for financing, designing, building, maintaining and operating the
motorway for up to 25 years, the motorway will remain a public asset. Tolling revenue will pay for the construction
and maintenance costs.

The Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency (NZTA) constructed its list of survey/ have your say questions.
An additional, non-integrating but complementary set of survey questions were constructed by the local Auckland
Councillor for the Rodney ward, Mr Greg Sayers and promoted via the local community Facebook pages. The
survey platform used was Survey Monkey utilising its Community Feedback Survey functionality.

The community feedback survey closed on 15 June to align with the closing of the NZTA online have your say
public consultation process.

The survey questions were structured to give the NZTA additional feedback in the form of a petition.
The survey was designed, and publicised, to be used to form a petition to the NZTA, with copies to given to the
four sitting members of Parliament who are based in the Rodney electorate (now the Kaipara ki Mahurangi and
Whangaparaoa electorates) being Mr Mark Mitchell (National), Mr Chris Penk (National), Marja Lubeck (Labour)
and Jenny Marcroft (Nz First). Each Member of Parliament has been given a copy of the survey results to
present, support or not-support as a petition, as each feels is appropriate.

There were 2,617 individual responses.

The survey results have also been given directly to the Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency.
In discussions between Cr Greg Sayers and Mr Steve Mutton, the Waka Kotahi Director of Regional Relationships,
agreement was achieved that the 2,617 responses will be presented in its report as a petition of 2,617 individual
responses to the NZTA or any Hearings Panel, rather than the petition being presented as one singular response.

86.12% of responses strongly oppose or somewhat oppose the proposed toll.