Greg Sayers named as new Rodney councillor

Greg Sayers has come out on top in the preliminary results for Rodney Ward councillor.New Auckland Council Rodney Ward councillor Greg Sayers is heading to the Puhoi Pub to shout his campaign volunteers a beer after unseating long time Rodney councillor Penny Webster.

The first progress results show Sayers the clear winner with 8804 votes to Websters 5768.

“I am just feeling very honoured to be entrusted with such a privileged position by the people of Rodney and just looking forward now to building a modern city that is realistic about what it can and can’t afford,” Sayers says.

“And for Rodney, I’m just looking forward to bringing our rates home.  Getting a fair deal. Getting transparency over the money that we pay, versus the money that is invested back into this community.

Sayers says his plans will depend on the next Rodney Local Board Plan.

“What the priorities are that people want and where they want that money spent.”

He says the first thing he will be doing is building a powerful alliance with the local board, council and also Rodney member of Parliament Mark Mitchell.

“Just so we are all singing off the same song sheet and have a strong united approach into council for what we need,” Sayers says.

Wayne Walker and John Watson return as Albany Ward councillors in the first progress result with John Watson the front runner on 18,176 and Wayne Walker second at 16,880. Lisa Whyte was third on 15,017 and Graham Lowe fourth at 14,727.

Former Orakei councillor Cameron Brewer has made a successful transition to the north west, capturing the second-highest tally in the Rodney Local Board contest in the Kumeu subdivision behind Phelan Pirrie to see Rodney First’s ticket nab 3755 and 4569 votes respectively. Independent Brenda Steele next with 3690 votes and Brent Bailey from Rodney First on 3288.

Rodney First also came out on top in the Rodney Local Board’s Warkworth subdivision with Alison Roe taking the highest tally with 3799 and Beth Houlbrooke in third with 3081, behind independent Tessa Berger in second with 3746.  Rodney First candidate Mike Francis was the fourth to be voted on in Warkworth giving the Rodney First banner a clear five person majority in the nine person board.

Colin Gregory Smith took the Wellsford subdivision of the Rodney Local Board and newcomer louise Johnston took the Dairy Flat subdivision in the preliminary results.

In the Hibiscus Coast subdivision of the Hibiscus and Bays Local Board Janet Fitzgerald took the highest amount of votes with 7459 followed by Mike Williamson (7188), Vicki Watson (6435) and Councillor John Watson’s daughter Caitlin Watson in fourth (6090).

Julia Parfitt topped the Hibiscus and Bays East Coast Bays subdivision results with 8012 votes followed by David Cooper (5681) Christina Bettany (5493) and Gary Holmes (5338).